This morning as I opened Granny’s Bible, I found myself on page 642 looking at the words of Psalms 117 bracketed and starred at the bottom of the page. It reads, “O Praise the Lord, all ye nations: praise him, all ye people. For his merciful kindness is great toward us: and the truth of the Lord endureth for ever. Praise ye the Lord.” At first I just read it and started to move on, but something stopped me. I read it again and realized why I had stumbled upon that Psalm.

My prayers lately have been about me, myself, and I. I find myself spilling out my problems and concerns and forgetting an important aspect of prayer- praise. I was reminded by Psalms 117 that it was God who found me and by His mercy and grace I am able to lift up my voice to Him in prayer. What reason do I have not to praise Him? He loved me enough to send His one and only Son to die the death I deserved. He created me. He made the earth and all its beauty for me to enjoy. He comforts me and accepts me regardless of my flaws and failures. He has promised me an eternal home. And the list goes on. I have ample blessings; sometimes, I just don’t take the time to think about them and offer God the praise He is more than due.

I wonder if David realized the same thing as he wrote this Psalm. Maybe he had been wrapped up in himself too and was made aware of his need to praise God. Maybe he had just had a victory in battle or a personal victory and was rightly attributing success to the Lord (something I sometimes fail to do). In the midst of the Psalm he says, “and the truth of the Lord endureth forever”. I believe he says this because he was reminded of God’s character. We all need to be reminded of God’s character and that often is revealed to us as we offer praise and thanks to the Lord.

This morning, take time to praise God. Take a look outside and thank him for the beauty of this earth. Put your worries and concerns on the back burner and praise Him for being in control of your life instead. Let your mind and heart be filled with His promises and His truths that endure forever. Think back on times the Lord has intervened on your behalf (for instance, paying the price for your sins) and give Him the glory. Turn your focus from your problems and towards God as you lift up His Name. It will do wonders for your soul. Praise ye the Lord.

What do you praise God for today?
What do you praise God for today?
Leave a Reply

