What do you desire most? A new car? A million dollars? That’s usually where our minds go when asked that question- possessions and money. I’m as guilty as the next. Had someone asked me that this morning I would have probably said without hesitation a million bucks. Then I would have gone on to tell them what all I would buy with that million. A new car, some new shoes probably, a personal chef, and I’d save some of course. But when I turned Granny’s old beat up Bible to Philippians 3, I learned what my answer should be.

Paul says in verses 8 and 9, “I count all things but loss for the excellency of the knowledge of Christ Jesus my Lord: for whom I have suffered the loss of all things, and do count them but dung, that I may win Christ, and be found in him”. When you desire something bad enough, you are willing to give up all things to have it. Paul was willing to give up all he had- his money, his possessions, his prestige, his position, his friends, his health, everything- and count it as garbage because he desired more than all else to know Christ and be one with Him. The things that often pop into our heads when we think of what we desire, he said were as good as dung to him. Instead, he spoke of the “excellency of the knowledge of Christ Jesus”. He wanted to know Christ above all else- to know how He works, how He thinks, how He loves- because Paul understood how immensely valuable and excellent a personal relationship with Our Father is.

After reading this passage, my desires were put into perspective. I desire to have a healthy, loving marriage and family. I desire to have a fulfilling, enjoyable occupation. I desire to have a life free of debt and money struggles. I desire to have nice clothes and a nice car. I desire to remain in good health. And sure, a million bucks couldn’t hurt. But above all these, I desire to know my Lord more and more with each new day. To know His wisdom and how He works in the lives of His children. To know how He would respond to the different situations and circumstances that life will bring. To know how He loves unconditionally. To know His power and His glory. To know His promises. To know Christ Jesus personally, intimately, and eternally is my greatest desire. So I ask you the opening question again, what do you desire most?

Leave a Reply

