You know how you can hear a song or a phrase or a verse of scripture several times but it has no effect at the moment; then, one day those words ring in your head over and over. Well, that is exactly what happened to me on this wonderful Friday morning.

I heard a song on K-love on my way to work. A song I’ve heard millions of times before, but a song I just sang without thinking about the words. Again, this morning I sang the familiar words. However, this time it was different as I kept repeating the words to the tune stuck in my head, “this is my story, this is my song, praising my Savior all the day long”.

Time and time again I’m amazed at the subtle yet very effective ways God changes my thoughts and attitude. In the simplest manner He can turn my heart to praise. I wouldn’t say I was in a bad mood this morning but I was tired and lethargic and not terribly excited about beginning my day. But the Lord changed all that by the subconscious repetition of the words of a song in my head. I mean you can’t help but to feel joyous and revived when you sing words like that.

It took several times repeating those words before I stopped and said to myself, “Hmm, praising my Savior  all the day long, what reason do I have not to do that?”. I have endless reasons to praise my Savior, starting with the reason He was given that name. He died for me and for you in order that we would have eternal life with Him (1 Thessalonians 5:10). If nothing else, we can praise Him all day long for that heroic action.

If I tried to list all the reasons I have to praise the Lord all throughout this day, I would run out of space. We all have reasons to praise God whether our life is in shambles or we are on cloud nine. Let God use subtle reminders to redirect your heart towards praise. Think of reasons to offer praise, write them down, and join me in praising our Savior, not just right now, but all the day long.

“This is the day that the Lord has made. Let us rejoice and be glad in it.” (Psalm 118:24)

Leave a Reply

