Not too long ago I was asked in an interview, “Who inspires you?”. My immediate answer was my dad. I was surprised that I didn’t even have to think about this answer. It just kind of shot out of me the minute I was given the opportunity to reply. And now as I take the time to think about my answer it still remains the same, with the addition of my mom, my grandparents, my siblings, Granny Rogers (my great grandmother whom this blog was inspired by), and above all my Lord Jesus Christ.

I don’t know what kind of response my interviewer expected, maybe a well-known war hero or a highly achieved businessman like Bill Gates. Though their stories of sacrifice and success are inspiring, I find more inspiration from the little things that I get the privilege to witness everyday. Little things like waking up long before it’s light out to cook breakfast for a group of volunteers or to attend a Bible study. Things like giving up time and wants to serve and give to others. Things like knowing just the right moment when someone needs a hug or to hear I love you. Things like remembering to say thank you and appreciate others. Things like handing down prayer journals, Bibles, and devotional books so that others can share in your Christian journey.

Let me just stop and talk about that last “little thing” I just mentioned. Granny Rogers died when I was just a baby, but I still got the privilege of knowing her. How you ask? Through the Bibles and prayers and devotions she left behind. In these beaten up, torn books browned with age I discover Granny’s struggles, blessings, and faith in Jesus Christ. I learn from her journey as she walks with me through mine. It is such a great blessing and I bet she had no clue of the impact it would continue to make in her offspring.

That being said, I encourage you to start keeping journals. Write your struggles and successes, prayer request, revelations from God, and all the rest in the margins of your Bible. Underline your favorite verses. Write out your thoughts on the margins of your devotional books and record heartfelt, honest prayers in a journal. Most importantly save them for yourself to reflect back on as well as for future generations. The more torn and ragged they are the better- that means they have been used. Trust me, it is the greatest gift you can give someone you love.

I was blessed beyond measure with family that inspires me to be better than I was yesterday and to glorify the Lord in service to others. I understand that not everyone’s family life is ideal. There are a lot of broken families out there and inspiration is the last thing some may find in family. However, inspiration can always be found in Our Lord who forgives when forgiveness is undeserved, who loves the unlovable, who rescues the abandoned, who reaches out to the forsaken, who restores the broken, who overcomes the enemy, who died for the unrighteous.

Who inspires you? What inspires you? It’s okay if it’s a sports star or famous figure. It’s okay if it is not a family member. But if the Lord Jesus is not on your list, some things need to change for your benefit. Ask the Lord to show you some inspiration from Him today and He will be faithful to do just that!

 

Leave a Reply

