Isn’t it amazing how you can read a verse or verses in scripture time and time again, and one day those same verses take on a whole new meaning? This is why we call scripture the Living Word. It is potent. It is pertinent. And it is always true.

I had heard and read several times the words in Exodus 3:14, “God said to Moses,’I AM WHO I AM'”. Nothing really struck me those times, nor did I really understand what God meant. But as scripture has a way of doing, the words jumped out at me when I heard them another time and I finally understood the meaning.

Moses had made up his mind to obey God and go to His people in Egypt. However, he was concerned that when he said the God of their fathers had sent him the Israelites would not know who this God was. So, he asked God what he was to tell them. God instructed Moses to tell them, “I AM has sent me to you”. I found it strange that God used that name to refer to himself instead of the names we often hear like your Heavenly Father, the Holy One, Almighty God, Sovereign King, Lord of All, etc. This is when God opened my eyes to understand what this name “I AM” truly means.

The name “I AM” encompasses all that God is. Every name that we call God is enveloped by the name “I AM”. I AM the Savior. I AM the Healer. I AM the Lord of All. I AM the Holy One. I AM Almighty God. I AM the Maker, the Creator of All. I AM the Sovereign King, Eternal King, King of Kings. I AM the Redeemer.

Whatever we need God is. When you are hurting and lonely God says, “I AM the Comforter”. When you are weak God says, “I AM your strength”. When you are afraid of the future God says “I AM the Sovereign King; I AM in control”. When you feel defeated God says, “I AM the Great Encourager”. When you are broken and can’t seem to pick the pieces God says, “I AM the Healer”. There is nothing He cannot provide. He is truly the Great I AM.

 

 

Leave a Reply

